The Office of Research and Creative Activity

Fall & Spring Scholars Week 2018-19

During a designated week each semester, the MSU community is encouraged to interact with showcases of academic and creative endeavors from the undergraduate and graduate students of fellow campus programs. Important dates for this academic year's Fall & Spring Scholars Week are as follows.

  • Fall Scholars Week: November 12-16, 2018
  • Deadline for students to submit an abstract: October 12, 2018 by 5PM 
  • Accepting submissions for Vol.2, Iss.2 of Steeplechase: An ORCA Student Journal. More info.

18th Annual Posters-at-the-Capitol

Posters is a showcase of 100+ unique scholarly, research, and creative projects led by undergraduate students from the state-funded universities in the Commonwealth and KCTCS. During the one-day event, students present their faculty-mentored projects to those responsible for crafting higher education policy in Kentucky.  This event is proudly hosted by Murray State University.

2018-19  Research and Travel Grants

The Office of Research and Creative Activity is pleased to announce the return of research and travel grants for students. The 2018-19 round of open submissions will be announced soon. View previously-accepted recipients here.

2018-2019 University Distinguished Mentor Award (UDMA) 

The Office of Provost, in conjunction with the Office of Research and Creative Activity, is please to present the University Distinguished Mentor Award. This annual award will be presented to a member of MSU's Faculty, nominated by their peers, in recognition of extraordinary efforts in the area of undergraduate mentoring, which is understood as a sustained partnership of mutual concern significantly fostering students’ intellectual, ethical and academic development above and beyond expectations of even excellent advising and teaching. Read more about the award and guidelines here. 

  • Deadline for nominations - February 1, 2019
  • Deadline for nominees to submit information - February 19, 2019
  • Award presented at Faculty Recognition Banquet - Thurday, April 18, 2019
  • This year's awards chair: Dana Statton (

Annual Reports